Never have a Zero day

3 Apr

I’m sure I saw this concept floating around on lifehacker or similar ilk, but I love the concept. The problem that I constantly have to overcome is the thought that when I do something, I need to do something huge, lengthy, with measurable results right away. 

It’s not true.

You don’t get six pack abs overnight. You don’t build a house overnight. You don’t write a best selling overnight.

I just need to calm down. Yes, I am getting older, but that doesn’t mean everything has to be done today. It’s weird, it’s the same message I tell my wife, but now I see myself doing the same exact thing, trying to both control the world and change it every single moment.

I’m not sure why I am freaked; why I want everything fixed and settled. I’m not sure the exact timeline for a midlife crisis and I don’t like the title. I think anyone can freak out at any age. But there is still time. And even when you run out of it, I can take solace in the fact that there will always, always be things left to be done.

I’ll make me dent today. And then tomorrow. I will not let a day slip by and not at least try.

Leave a Reply

